2022 Smith County High School Football Preview

 

Chris Vance of DTC Sports discusses the upcoming football season with Smith County head football coach, Matt Dyer.

Head Coach: Matt Dyer (2nd Season, 6-6 Overall, 3-1 Region, 1-1 Postseason)

2021 Overall: 6-6 (4-1 Home, 2-5 Away)
Region 5-3A: 3-1 (2nd Place)
Playoffs: Beat Fairview 18-7 in the first round of the 3A state playoffs. Lost to White House 17-13 in the second round
Season Notes: The Owls will look to build momentum after finishing strong last season. Coach Dyer will continue to bring a high level of energy to a team that returns twenty starters composed of twelve all-region selections, including all-state defensive lineman Jamison Keeley

2022 SCHEDULE
Sat Aug. 20 – Gordonsville (on DTC3)
Fri Aug. 26 – DeKalb County
Thu Sep. 1 – at Maplewood*
Fri Sep. 9 – at Westmoreland
Fri Sep. 16 – at Walker Valley
Fri Sep. 23 – Trousdale County
Fri Sep. 30 – Stratford*
Fri Oct. 14 – at Jackson County*
Fri Oct. 21 – Macon County
Fri Oct. 28 – East Nashville*